The ACT Philatelic Council Inc awarded the 2018 Shakespeare Award to Darryl Fuller at the awards dinner of Canberra Stampshow 2018 at the Hellenic Club on 17 March 2018, the twentieth biennial stamp show held in Canberra since 1980.

The Shakespeare Award is awarded on the basis of services to organised philately, especially in the ACT; distinguished philatelic study and research; and the promotion of philately and public dissemination of philatelic knowledge. The Award can be made to people from any of the three branches of philately; stamp collectors (philatelists), stamp dealers and postal administration, such as Australia Post. The award has only been presented when the Council has identified a worthy recipient for it.

Darryl Fuller, (R) is presented with his Shakespeare Award by Ian McMahon (L)

The award is named after J W (‘Bill’) Shakespeare who was one of three brothers who were the sons of T M Shakespeare, the founder of the Canberra Times.  He was one of the founders of the Philatelic Society of Canberra and the Society’s first Secretary/Treasurer/Exchange Superintendent and a former president of the Society.

Darryl has been a driving force in promoting philately in the Australian Capital Territory for over 30 years.

He has been a member of the Philatelic Society of Canberra for more than 30 years, serving on its Committee for much of that period, as well as being a member of the executive of the ACT Philatelic Council for most of that time. He has held a number of positions in both organisations including President and is currently Vice-President of both organisations. In addition, he has been a member of the Board of the Australian Philatelic Federation since 2001 including two years as President.

In a remarkable achievement, he has been Chair of the Organising Committees of no less than 9 National and Part-National Philatelic Exhibitions held in Canberra since 1990 including the full-national exhibition Natstamp 98 and Canberra Stampshow 2018. In addition, he has been a member of the organising committee on three other national exhibitions and was involved in the organisation of two international exhibitions held in Australia.

He is a national and International philatelic judge and is currently the Australian representative on the FIP Revenues Commission. He has formed an International Gold Medal collection of Leeward Islands Postal Stationery which won the Grand Prix d’Honneur at the Asian International exhibition Nanning 2016 as well as forming significant exhibits in aerophilately and revenues.

Darryl has written many articles on philatelic subjects including postal stationery, exhibiting and aerophilately as well as a series of articles on behalf of the Australian Philatelic Federation in Australasian Stamp News. He was editor of Capital Philately, the Journal of the Philatelic Society of Canberra, for over 10 years.